BBC RadioMusiktippsNachhören

BBC Radio 3 Late Junction: The Sound of the Year Awards

Verity Sharp is joined by Matthew Herbert to announce the winners of the Sound of the Year Awards, and we play a mixtape by the Greek electronic musician Lena Platonos.

Verity Sharp is joined by composer Matthew Herbert to announce the winners of the first Sound of the Year Awards 2020. The awards were the brainchild of Herbert, who was looking to celebrate everyday sound in all its forms and bring together an international community of sound professionals and enthusiasts. He is the chair of judges for the awards which are presented by the Museum of Sound and the New Radiophonic Workshop.

Also on the show, Verity presents a hand-crafted mixtape by the pioneering Greek electronic musician Lena Platonos. Platonos started out as a classical pianist before spearheading the Greek electronic scene of the 1980s. She combines an interest in analogue synthesis with surreal poetry and listens to music 24 hours a day, with the radio on continually overnight. Her mixtape is a snapshot of this varied sonic universe, hopping from electronic psychedelia to Schubert lieder. Elsewhere, we have a live recording from Joshua Abrams’ Natural Information Society, a new piece by Malian guitarist Samba Touré and a soundtrack by T Griffin for a film about Mexican architect Luis Barragán.

Produced by Alannah Chance
A Reduced Listening Production for BBC Radio 3

1 Lucas Santtana – Ogodô Ano 2000 (feat. Tom Zé)

2 Λένα Πλάτωνος – And We Hear ‚I Love You‘

3 John Drever – Covid crepusculares (edit)

4 Rob St. John – Surface Tension

5 Punkt. Vrt Plastik – Helix GA (Lillinger)

6 Sir Victor Uwaifo and his Titibitis – Sakpaide No. 2

7 Charlie Carroll – ‚Unheard 17279‘

8 Matthew Herbert – SOUNDS OF THE YEAR ANNO

9 Trjj, Hipolito – Timer

10 William S. Burroughs & Brion Gysin – Invisible Art 1

11 Natural Information Society with Evan Parker – Part I

12 Ólafur Arnalds – So Close

13 The Beatles – Your Mother Should Know

14 Schubert – Staendchen (Serenade) mit Peter Schreier

15 White Noise – Love without name

16 Laurie Anderson – O Superman

17 Gori Gori – Anna German

18 Samba Touré – Tamala

19 Barbara Ellison – Posted By

20 T. Griffin – The Smell of Wet Clay

21 Ballaké Sissoko & Camille – Kora

22 Tuulikki Bartosik – Internal Dialogue

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert