BBC RadioMusiktipps

BBC Radio 3 Late Junction: A Midsummer night’s dream session

Verity Sharp presents a dream-inspired collaboration session at Maida Vale from Alabaster dePlume, Anrimeal and Tasos Stamou, based on the dreams of the Late Junction listeners.

All through June, we’ve been exploring the world of dreams in collaboration with the artist Sam Potter and his A.I. dream machine. Using dreams submitted by our listeners, the machine created new communal dream-texts. For the first time in over a year we invite artists back to Maida Vale to collaborate in person using the last batch of dream texts as their inspiration.

Fervent collaborator Alabaster dePlume, aka Manchester’s Angus Fairbairn, is a spoken word artist, writer and saxophonist who combines performance poetry with jazz sounds and folk sensibilities. His releases feature contributions from the likes of Sarathy Korwar, Danalogue and Rozi Plain. Anrimeal is the project of songwriter, producer and poet Ana Rita de Melo Alves. Originally from Porto, her ‘computer-folk’ merges vocals with electric guitar, violin, field recordings and electronics. Greek musician Tasos Stamou is an electroacoustic composer and instrument builder, performing with the likes of Adam Bohman, Steve Beresford and Terry Day.

Elsewhere Verity marks Midsummer night, with some solstice songs for sun-worshipping, as well as doom-electronics from Kampala, rhythmic jazz from Brazil and cello reflections from San Francisco.

Produced by Katie Callin
A Reduced Listening Production for BBC Radio 3

1 Gabriella Smith & Gabriel Cabezas – Bard of a Wasteland

2 Belinda Kempster & Fran Foote – The Sheep Shearing Song

3 Don Zilla – Tension

4 Amaro Freitas – Baquaqua

5 Alabaster dePlume, anrimeal & Τάσος Στάμου – A Spire

6 Roomful of Teeth – Fall Into Me (Live at the TANK)

7 São Paulo Underground & Tupperwear – Fajana

8 Children of Alice – Invocation of a Midsummer Reverie

9 Greta Lindholm – Eleven Evening

10 Erlend Apneseth & Margit Myhr – Hallingen

11 ThE DiAboLIcaL LibERTieS – Dub Protection (feat. Emma-Jean Thackray)

12 Alabaster dePlume, anrimeal & Τάσος Στάμου – soon, it will light up soon

13 Alabaster dePlume, anrimeal & Τάσος Στάμου – The Definition of Metal

14 Vasconcelos Sentimento – Passarinho

15 Her Majesty’s Coroner For Wirral – Contemporary City Living

16 Fotheringay – Wild Mountain Thyme

17 Gianluca Ladema – Hyle

18 Unknown – Quechua – Cuzco – Inti Raymi (festival to the Sun)

19 Cucina Povera – Kullan

20 Chris Sharkey – young brothers

21 Saba Alizâdeh – Midnight Summer Dream

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert