Cuneiform: Revolutionary Snake Ensemble – Forked Tongue / Dieses Wochenende für FIVE

„One of the most successful combinations of booty-shaking & brain-stimulating music to be released this year!“ – Splendid // “Boston’s own rabble of horn players and drummers bring a positively Sun Ra shine to second-line music.“ – The Boston Herald

„They’ve pretty much modernized the traditional concept, and they’ve spun it into a singular sound that’s very unique and very vibrant. They went past the tried and true. They managed to do it all with a very distinct musical persona.“ – Glenn Astarita on NPR’s Morning Edition.


Formed in 1990, Revolutionary Snake Ensemble is an experimental brass band with influences ranging from free jazz to New Orleans second line to contemporary funk. They capture the fun of a street parade band while also expanding its stylistic range. This is their second album. Their first album received considerable public, radio, and press acclaim. This is the only CD ever released to include songs written by both Billy Idol & Ornette Coleman!

The band performs 40-50 times per year. Notable appearances have included the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Krewe of Muses Mardi Gras Parade, the Cambridge River Festival, ArtBeat, the Central Square World’s Fair, Tonic, First Nights Boston, Providence, & Fall River, the Museum of Fine Arts of Boston, the Brooklyn Academy of Music, Berklee Performance Center, and numerous other venues. The Snakes have traveled annually to New Orleans on the Amtrak Crescent train for years, performing on the train along the way.

The Ensemble can be heard on Parade of Numbers, an animated counting piece regularly aired on the television program Sesame Street.

released May 13, 2008

Ken Field – alto sax, whistles, percussion, clapping
Jon Fraser – trumpet
Andrew Hickman – tenor sax
Kimon Kirk – acoustic bass
Phil Neighbors – drums, percussion, electric bass on „Slots“
Erik Paull – drums, percussion
Lennie Peterson – trombone
Gabrielle Agachiko – vocals on „Down By The Riverside“
Karen Aqua – djembe on „Down By The Riverside“; tambourine and clapping on „Chippie“
Andy Pinkham – electric bass on „White Wedding“, „Slots“; clapping on „Chippie“
Jesse Williams – bass on „Under The Skin“

1) Click this album link:
2) Click „Buy Digital Album“
3) Type „10“ into the Name your price field (The discount comes next! 😉 ).
4) Type the word „FIVE“ into the Discount code field.
5) Click „apply“
6) Click „Check out now“ or „Add to Cart“

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.