BBC RadioMusiktippsNachhören

BBC Radio 3 Late Junction: The Song of the Vending Machine

Verity Sharp listens to the late-night singing of vending machines, revisits Sun Ra’s classic album Lanquidity, and we salute pioneering composer Alvin Lucier on his 90th birthday.

Verity Sharp listens to the secret music made by vending machines, including a particularly talented hot chocolate machine in Turin and a singing machine in a Swedish hospital which inspired the latest album by Joakim Forsgren and Andreas Hiroui Larsson. Andreas describes how the machine was empty, atmospherically lit up and emanated an electrical hum. They were ‘captivated by the fact that it sold us nothing and at the same time performed for us’.

Also on the programme: we revisit Sun Ra’s classic album Lanquidity ahead of its reissue; we hear the latest soul-infused release by LA musician Georgia Anne Muldrow; and we celebrate the composer Alvin Lucier on his 90th birthday.

Produced by Alannah Chance
A Reduced Listening Production for BBC Radio 3

1 Stephono-ZIP – Feedback 8 – The automatic hot chocolate vending machine

2 Los Kings – Let´s start (Empecemos)

3 Anton Bruhin – 1st poem

4 Maja Ratkje – Vannstand – Bergen A

5 Tirzah – Send Me

6 Yasmin Williams – Through the Woods


8 Joakim Forsgren & Andreas Hiroui Larsson – Vacation

9 Sun Ra – Twin Stars of Thence (Alternate Mix)

10 Chimudon, Mashibato & Togus Ziguradan – The Venerable Genghis Khan (Mongolia)

11 Microtub – Sonic Drift

12 Kae Tempest – Lessons

13 John Bowers & Tim Shaw – I Am Sitting In A Zoom (Shaw)

14 Jean-Philippe Gross & Jérôme Noetinger – Cadavre 5

15 Count Lasher – Perseverance (Jamaica)

16 anrimeal – Hello And A Half (feat. Butterfly Child)

17 August, Yours Truly – Lady Angel

18 Khalab & M’berra Ensemble – Desert Storm

19 Anton Bruhin – 4th poem

20 This is Pan – Third Eye

21 New Age Steppers – Radial Drill

22 Giancarlo nino Locatelli & Alberto Braida – ninna nanna

23 Felicity Ford & Paul Whitty – Richard Hamilton Building Vending Machine being serviced

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert